1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Stereotyped by interviewer

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by sleep_addict, Nov 20, 2005.

1. sleep_addict

sleep_addict Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    So I’m an engineering student and pretty proud of what I can do in terms of making devices that can really help people. But a student interviewer last week totally stereotyped me as boring and cutthroat before she even walked in. She made it clear that she didn’t think med school was a good choice for me. For the rest of the interview I tried to convince her that building circuits and having a desire to serve others aren’t mutually exclusive, but it just seemed useless because she didn’t seem willing to change her mind about me.

I guess I'm most frustrated by how it didn’t seem there was anything I could do or say to change her opinion of me. Has anyone else been stereotyped like this? I’ve met people who felt it was strange that as an engineering student I was also interested in art, so why does studying engineering put limits on what unrelated activities I want to pursue? As if I could only be interested in stuff that involve lots of calculations. I would guess if you’re a biology major people wouldn’t automatically assume you’d be better suited doing research than being a doctor.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Daichi Katase

Daichi Katase Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

that was just a bad interviewer.

I am an engineer and people are very interested about that during the interviews. However, after i start to see them get a little lost after i start talking about my research, I talk about my involvement in debate, interest in history and the Daily Show....