Stressed First Year Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDO2016

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just had a few questions...I'm a OMS I and my grades are terrible. I have B's and mostly C's. I'm pretty sure I'm ranked in the bottom 25% of the class. Although, I do have leadership roles/community service, but I'm not sure if that matters.

The problem is I'm still learning to adjust and modify my study habits and getting used to the massive amounts of information we have to learn. Any advice?

Also, I was interested in the following specialties: anesthesia, neurology, PMR, internal medicine. Based on my grades, which should I stop aiming for as I don't want to lower my expectations, but I want to be realistic. Any feedback?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you should stop aiming for any of them. You still have shot at all of them. First year grades are important to a point, specifically in very competitive specialties. But the ones you have listed are not that competitive (although keep in mind the match is becoming more competitive each year).

More importantly is that you do not fail anything. Try to get the best grades you can, if possible really try to boost your grades in 2nd year and then put in the effort to destroy Step I. Step I by far will be the piece of the puzzle that limits what you are competitive for.

Don't stress out too much, focus on finding what works for you study wise. You are still VERY early in your education. You can turn things around. Pre-clinical grades aren't of much importance. If you get good board scores, LORs, Audition rotations, and Clinical grades, there is no reason why you couldnt do any of those. Your focus your first two years should be passing and rocking boards.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)