Struggling With Clinical Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maverick55

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from undergrad two years ago and recently started taking the course prerequisites for med school. Getting clinical exposure/shadowing is obviously important, but I've run into a few roadblocks.

I contacted the local hospital here and inquired about potential shadowing opportunities. The lady in charge of career development at the hospital basically told me that they are no longer allowing this, and the few slots that are open are reserved for residents. She told me to call back "in the winter" which is a polite way of telling me I'm out of luck.

I then contacted the local nursing home to see if I could do something similar with them. They actually were quite receptive to the idea and said they would allow me to follow someone around the nursing home and rehab area for 5-7 hours a week. Geriatric medicine is one branch of healthcare that does interest me. But here are my concerns:

Will shadowing in a nursing home be deemed inferior to a hospital setting? Is this considered "good" clinical experience? Also, I might be following a nurse around and not a doctor.

In addition to shadowing someone in the nursing home, I am also planning to work at the free clinic, but most of the work involved is administrative duties and not necessarily "hands on" healthcare related experience. I am just confused overall on what I should be doing to make myself more competitive and prove my desire to pursue medicine. Any insight or suggestions would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from undergrad two years ago and recently started taking the course prerequisites for med school. Getting clinical exposure/shadowing is obviously important, but I've run into a few roadblocks.