USMLE Struggling with Step 1 Multiple Times

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mito215

Reaction score
Hi! I’ve taken Step 1 three times it didn’t go well. I want to take it a fourth time, but I’m not sure how to convince my school to let me do that.

I’m a decent student staying above average on all my curriculum exams. For my practice USMLE, they have all been passing, and except for the first one, have all been around the 230 range. The school has seen all that and has given me multiple times to take the exam but I am not sure what’s happening.

I will do whatever is necessary because this is basically what I have worked and pushed for my entire life.

If anyone could offer any advice, insight or guidance, I would really appreciate it. My questions are 1) what can I say/bring up to the school that will consider giving me another chance? 2) How did you study for the exam? I do well on tests and practice but something is messing me up on the actual exam and a change of study habits help might help? 3) Any general guidance to someone who’s failed the exam?

Members don't see this ad.

You probably know this, but if your school lets you go for a 4th attempt, this is your last one. It used to be six tries, but now it's only four. If you fail this fourth time, you're pretty much done.

If your school lets you do it again, I'd see if you can take some time off and really figure out how to nail this thing. Your career depends on this last chance.

Members don't see this ad :)
First off, really sorry you're going through this. No experience with failing, so take it with a grain of salt. Scored 230 for what its worth. Not great but I passed as an average student.