Student loan debt causing mortgage problems

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

perilou

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current 4th year student with 3 months until I graduate and $100k in student loan debt. I went to the bank today to discuss getting a mortgage loan for buying a house. The loan officer was not that concerned with my debt (especially after I told him about IBR and that my monthly payment would likely be ~ $250 / month). However, he is unable to approve the loan unless I get a letter from my student loan lender stating what my IBR payment would be.

So, I called my student loan lender, and they said they are unable to write a letter stating what my IBR monthly payment would be until I had an income (ie. start residency) and thus could only write a letter stating what my repayment would be based on regular repayment (which is high).

The loan officer won't approve the mortgage loan with this repayment (it's like $1000/mo).

I write all this to say: I know residents buy homes at the start of residency all the time. What do I need to do? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks so much for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Is it possible to have a parent co-sign and then have them taken off the loan when you can "prove" your income in July?

Obviously you need to have someone who would agree to co-sign.