Study Abroad Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc Henry

blowin' in the wind
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering...I studied abroad for a term and I know that experience looks good but my grades while in England weren't great (school there really is harder). I'm crossing my fingers that I got a 3.o....

So do you think the experience will over shadow the low GPA?

Members don't see this ad.

Just wondering...I studied abroad for a term and I know that experience looks good but my grades while in England weren't great (school there really is harder). I'm crossing my fingers that I got a 3.o....

No, low GPA is low GPA.

Also, make sure you articulate what the experience was when you write it up. Just being abroad doesn't make it an automatic positive if all you did was take classes.

First make sure that AMCAS will even count thoser grades. I studied abroad in Paris and had a 4.0, but it didn't count in my AMCAS GPA because my home university just gave me transfer credit for those classes instead of a letter grade.

Members don't see this ad :)

For me, the experience far outweighed the grades for a semester of classes. However, the classes had nothing to do with science and were conducted in another language.

Yea, AMCAS won't even accept the grades from most foreign institutions, good or bad.

I'd like to study A Broad, too. I'm heading to Vegas, first thing!

Seriously tho, I'd love to go abroad and immerse myself in another culture, primarily to learn a 2nd language. Good luck.

Yea, AMCAS won't even accept the grades from most foreign institutions, good or bad.
I don't think that's true. If you are studying abroad in a program organized by your school, and you receive grades on you home university transcript for the work you completed, AMCAS does factor in the grades.