Study Habits

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jon Davis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any good study habits or note taking habits they want to share?
I'm looking at different techniques to studying, note taking, researching material and so forth. I understand that some of these skills are relative to the individual's "brain wiring" but I think the more suggestions posted the more doors I can open with these new techniques. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello. I'm a tutor at my university and I help give programs on study skills for freshman. I realize that this is a slightly different situation that what you might be in, but I do get lots of ideas from all the people that I talk to. Here are a few things that worked for me (remember, this is just what worked for me; if you find it not working, forget it and move on. If you're going to fail, "fail fast"):

1. Use the 3 times method. It's been proven that, for most information, learning it 3 times is the most efficient method. What this means is: skim the information before class, take good notes in class, and then review the notes after class. Here is what I do:
I will skim the reading before I get to class (usually the night before). Look at key definitions, diagrams, figures, schemas, and cycles. Don't read the text, it will take too long and you won't get that much more from it. Don't expect to be an expert on the information from this, or even understand everything, JUST READ IT.
Next, go to class. In most situations, going to class will be extremely beneficial. Take good notes and sit near the front. You won't have to take as many notes, because you've already seen the information. While others are scrambling for minutia and definitions, you can LISTEN, which is more important. I tend to listen more and write less in most classes, because I've already seen what is in the text.