Study Skills

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Finn

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will apply to med school in the Fall of 2003 and in the mean time I am studying for the MCAT, taking Organic Chem and reading books on spead reading, mind mapping, and memory enhancement. Has anyone out there come across any cool or useful ways to assimilate, retain and retrieve large amounts of info?? If so, what works for you?

Thanks for your responses!:clap:

Members don't see this ad.

i type out a study guide for myself. for some reason, the actual act of typing or writing down information makes me remember it. this works for my roomates too.

Yea, I totally agree. I always write out my "study sheets" of the most important concepts and facts. For some reason, I can then picture it in my mind when I need to recall the info. I definitely think that writing it out helps. Plus it gives you a quick reference when all the sudden you are walking into the test and think you have forgotten something.

As far as the speed reading etc. you may be overdoing it. I tend to read very fast because I am an avid reader, but I had classmates that did alot of that stuff and it really didn't help them that much. Remember that for the MCAT, much of it is application of knowledge, not memorization. I found having a broad knowledge and understanding how to apply that knowledge more helpful than just memorizing. Take hormones for example,
knowing their names and where they come from is important but most of the questions are going to be on how they act in the body
and the changes that occur due to their action.

Members don't see this ad :)
if you think the information is important, then you're more likely to remember it. i think...

Wll just being the anal person that I am, I:

Have a notbeook for notes that I take in class
A seperate notebook that I re-copy my notes in from class