SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

studying abroad

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by pbehzad, Jun 30, 2002.

1. pbehzad

pbehzad Faddayy 7+ Year Member

Jun 20, 2002
    Atl and soon to be OKC
    i was wondering is it better to study abroad next summer (which would be summer between soph & junior year) or try to work in a research lab over the summer? i know some schools like baylor med have research programs for undergrads over the summer? the study abroad program i am looking into deals with british healthcare system, so it does have some revelance to medical field. also, i have worked as a lab assistant in a med school lab and presently work in a dr.'s office, so i have some experience. do you think studying abroad would make my app stand out more, or do you think i should do a research program? also is studying abroad during the spring semester looked down upon by adcoms? would the best time to go abroad be the summer time?
    thanks.

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003]

Spiderman [RNA Ladder 2003] Platinum Member 7+ Year Member

Apr 8, 2002
    a LOT of schools have summer undergrad research programs. I am doing one of them and this program is called MD/PhD summer research undergrad program. It is hard to get in but if you have research exprience, there should not be problems. It is also a paid position, it pays me $4000 for 10 weeks.

4. pbehzad

pbehzad Faddayy 7+ Year Member

Jun 20, 2002
    Atl and soon to be OKC
    how hard are they to get in? also which one are you in? what kind of stats do you need to get into one of the research programs?

5. TroutBum

TroutBum Senior Member 7+ Year Member

Jun 15, 2002
    Denver, CO