studying before med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nightman327

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i know everyone says before you start med school just relax and take it easy (i've been doing a great job of that since i graduated last summer) but i'm afraid i might be behind to start med school. in college i took the bare minimum of science courses (gen chem 1,2; gen bio 1,2; orgo 1,2; phys 1,2) and i feel like i'm behind all those other bio/chem majors who have already taken biochem, micriobio, gentics, etc. anyone recommend i catch myself up in these subjects or just do some light reviewing? i thought i would re-read my kaplan mcat bio review book since it briefly covers most of these subjects, would that be enough?

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't if I was you. I had a year and a half between when I finished undergrad and started school and was wondering the same thing last year. I just finished first year and from my experience there is no amount of review or preview during the summer before you start school that will prepare you for whats coming. Listen to others advice when they tell you to just relax and enjoy your summer.

Come on dude, you even said in your post that you did a search so you should already know the answer to this one. The amount of prestudy that your should do is none. No prestudy. Nada. All you are going to do is waste your time at best and at worst you actually put some effort into it and you come into first year already tired.