Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Stupid Questions...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by bennyhanna, Nov 15, 2005.

1. bennyhanna

5+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I am a student majoring in molecular biology, minoring in spanish, and I hope to become a physician some day... (I have a problem with the term pre-med... I have yet to find a college that offers 'pre-med' as a degree).

While looking into many DO and Medical schools, I noticed that many of them list their pre-requisites as including 1 year of inorganic chemistry. http://www.aacom.org/data/cib/03-prereqs.html

Well, this is a bit confusing to me, as it is unclear to me the meaning of 'inorganic chemistry'... as my, and many colleges have General Chemistry I and II (which is inorganic), and then there is the actual Inorganic Chemistry I and II courses that have Organic I and II as a pre-requisite. So, are they meaning General Chemistry I and II, or Inorganic Chemsitry I and II (taken after organic)?

Thanks to all who reply!

2. HunterGatherer

HunterGatherer HunterGatherer
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    general chemistry = inorganic chemistry
    organic chemistry is usually not called by any other name.

Very few schools offer a pre-med curriculum and medical schools don't expect you to have this as your major. Most people major in biology or another science because all of the pre-reqs may be applied to your degree. Someone majoring in Economics or another non-science course will have to use a good portion of the science courses as an elective.

Majoring in a nonscience degree will not hurt your chances at getting into medical school so it is my opinion to try to take a degree you will enjoy or will find useful after graduating.