Submit application before retaking OAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

barrig99

Reaction score
Hey guys! So I took my OAT today and I was not happy with the results. I ended up scoring a 290 for both TS and AA. I was really shooting for a 330/340, but I guess the nerves got the best of me. I do plan on retaking it, but I was wondering if anyone would be willing to offer me any advice? I do have a GPA of 3.42, I have been working for two optometrists for close to three years now, and I am a member of the optometry club at my school. I also got three letter of recommendations, 2 from the optometrists I work for and one from an organic chemistry lab coordinator/professor from my university. I'm not sure if I should apply ASAP or if should I wait until I retake, which would be in 90 days (the soonest). Any guidance would be extremely appreciated, definitely feeling discouraged right now

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! I understand where you are coming from with the OAT, as I have been there before. It is a monster of an exam and we are in the middle of a global pandemic which doesn't help anybody's situation. It is great to hear that you have the perseverance to retake it - I did as well! Looks like you have a very solid GPA, and you have great experience. Your letters of recommendations sound like they check the boxes as well. You should definitely apply ASAP! There is a spot on OptomCAS where you can indicate you are going to retake the OAT, but definitely apply as soon as you can. DO NOT feel discouraged!!! You are doing great things, and I believe in you. Schools will see your whole package :) hope this helps!