Subspecialty and Gen Peds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which subspecialty training would be most helpful in Gen Peds after fellowship?

• Nephrology

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Endocrinology

Votes: 7 70.0%
  • Rheumatology

Votes: 2 20.0%

• Total voters

prinzmetal7

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a PGY-2 resident interested in Nephrology, Endo, and Rheum. I also enjoy Gen Peds and realize there is a strong time/monetary cost to pursuing these fellowships. Therefore, I would like to get opinions on which subspecialty training would be most helpful in Gen Peds if I were to potentially train and decide after a year or two to return to Gen Peds rather than complete the fellowship or to return/supplement my subspecialty practice with Gen Peds. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

So from a cerebral perspective, if you made me pick I could see an argument for endo or nephro. But realistically this is a bad reason to choose a specialty. What are you interested in?

Also as you said there is a huge Cost in terms of time and lost earnings by pursuing any fellowship so you really should be sure before you jump in. If you’re on the fence then unless I’m mistaken, these are all sufficiently non competitive that you could easily practice for a few years and then go back if you decide it’s what you want.

Reactions: 1 users
Agree with Spurs. All 3 of the ones you are interested in do a lot of care that's longitudinal and borders at time on primary care. It's certainly possible to do some primary care and some specialty time, but the fellowship is only worth it if you want to spend a good bit of your time in the specialty. Of the three, I think renal would be least compatible with that, I can see it more readily for rheum and endo. Remember that doing a fellowship requires significant research and if you aren't interested in that, it may be a frustrating 3 years.

Reactions: 1 user