Suggestions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Germadirk123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I know that the "pre-veterinary" section is for all student interested in going into the veterinary field, and while I have posed threads there before I'm looking more wisdom from Veterinarians who have been through these stages where many of us are stuck stressing!

I am a pre-vet student currently at LSU looking for more animal/veterinary experience, and I was wondering anyone had any suggestions of how to obtain more experience?

This is what I have so far.....

1) Working at a small animal clinic since 2008
2) Volunteer at a shelter( walk/bathe dogs)
3) Currently working in the vet school in the biomedical science dept

At the moment I do not have any large-animal experience, but I am looking to obtain some in the near future (hopefully!)

Thank you for your help and time!
:)

Members don't see this ad.

It sounds like you already have pretty good experience. I mean get some LA experience if you can but, don't stress out about it.

the pre-vet board really is where you will find that info. most of us were pre-vets on the boards and did post our stats, and many of us still drift back and make suggestions.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you'd like some large animal experience, one opportunity is working on the Equine Critical Care Team at the LSU vet school on nights/weekends. It's only a couple of shifts per month (or at least it was when I did it), and you get lots of experience during foal season.

Another thing, and I know this is just small animal, but you could look into helping out at Yelp BR's adoption days every weekend around Baton Rouge.

Hope this helps! Good luck :)