Suggestions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nlynn527

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum but have been reading it for a few weeks now. I was hoping to get some suggestions as to what to do to increase my chances of getting into medical school.

My situation is this.. I graduated high school 4 years ago and went onto a 2 year nursing school immediately after graduating. Due to personal reasons I had to withdraw after 2 semesters. My grades were okay, but not great. I took 2 years off and worked in my local ER as a nursing assistant. I also worked part time in a nursing home as a med tech. Fall of 2011 I took classes at my local community college and did well. I did get one high C though. This semester I transferred to a university and am enrolled in the respiratory therapy program. I plan to graduate in 2015 with a BS in Biology and chemistry minor. I also just started volunteering weekly at a local hospital.
What else should I be doing in the mean time while completing pre-reqs? I appreciate any suggestions! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

well many applicants do research so you could try that out for a while and see if it's for you. if your grades are low, you should study hard for the mcat and balance it out. in the meantime, just fill your time with studying and things that interest you. you might find that a program like jump start may be for you. or perhaps you'd make a good tutor. there are a lot of opportunities on college campuses and it seems that many have a day at the beginning of the year. you can look at different clubs and groups to see if any of them do things that you might find worthwhile.

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum but have been reading it for a few weeks now. I was hoping to get some suggestions as to what to do to increase my chances of getting into medical school.