Quantcast

Summer research or clinical experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vanillasky123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hi everyone.. I was recently accepted into a full-time summer research position with a small pharmaceutical company that pays a generous stipend to its interns. I will be doing applied biomedical research that won't lead to publications or anything like that but I'll be working with PhDs. However, I've also been accepted to volunteer full-time at a hospital to do tasks that include patient advocacy, help PIs with clinical research (literature search and patient screening), hospital administrative duties, and possibly some shadowing.

I'm having trouble deciding because I have very little clinical experience and its hard to obtain those experiences during the academic school year (b/c of my school's location). I only have 150 hours of shadowing experience (done over every school break for the past few years) and 50 hours of ER hospital volunteering (short stint over one summer). On the other hand, I have years of biomedical and industry research experience and I really need the stipend this summer to pay my bills.

My question is: which position do you think is better for me given my current circumstances? I feel like if I take the research position, it will hurt my application (applying in 2014) because I won't have enough clinical volunteering before I apply... but its so hard to turn down the internship...

Planes2Doc

I enjoy the nightlife
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Reaction score