Supervising PP cardiac

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Reveler

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, current CA3 here. I'll be staying at my home base to do a regional fellowship next year and will likely go PP once I'm finished. In talking to my co-residents who have already landed jobs and looking through job postings, I'm curious how supervising pump cases generally works out there in the wild. I've heard of places being 3:1 or 2:1 while supervising anesthetists doing pump cases and this just seems foreign to me coming out of residency. Several of my coresidents will be working in situations like this without cardiac fellowship and I'm curious how it's managed. Do the anesthetists do all the lines? If not fellowship trained, does cardiology or anesthesia do TEE, etc.? Any info about the setup at your shop is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

When I worked as an AA at a place that did hearts, we were 1:2 in the heart room. Very few AAs/CRNAs did the central lines (10%?) but most of us did the arterial line in preop. Our anesthesiologists did the TEE, and many but not all were cardiac fellowship trained. Because of the length of the cases, if there were 2 hearts going simultaneously in the two adjacent rooms, they were very rarely going on/off at the same time. But since the rooms were right next to each other, usually it wasn't an issue in the rare event that happened.

Sounds like a disaster waiting to happen on your watch. I solo cardiac and supervise general, and there is absolutely no way we could ever supervise 1:1 let alone 1:2/1:3 for our cardiac cases. Granted, we do a lot of cases the other places don’t want to do, but there are so many nuances that require prompt/immediate treatment even in “routine” CABGs that I couldn’t imagine being out of the room for any amount of time without ultimately causing harm to the patient.