Surg path + neuropath

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

basket687

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a PGY-2 AP/CP resident. I am interested in neuropath but I also want to do general surgical pathology. My ideal job would be something like 50% surgpath + 50% neuropath with some research.

Are jobs like that available in academia? Is it better to do just neuropath fellowship or surgpath + neuro fellowships?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I probably don't know what I'm talking about but it sounds like you're more AP-minded, with the surgpath and neuropath focus. Maybe you should switch to AP-only? It could save you time, give you a jump-start on starting fellowships. If you do end up getting an academic job and become involved in research, that's even less of a reason to still do CP...? From my understanding, CP makes you more marketable if you go into community practice. But maybe I don't know what I'm talking about.

Your ideal job sounds like you better like moving around alot. Very very few openings for something like that.

Members don't see this ad :)