Surg residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tjmDO

Vascular Surgery Fellow
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year medical student and let's face it as a first year nobody ever sits you down and says here is what you can do as a surgeon, and here is what you can do as a FP, etc. Also nobody tells you what grades you have to get to get into residencies. What I have heard is that class rank counts big along with your board scores. Can anyone break down for me what a general surgeon actually is trained to do? And maybe the extras you would learn as a trauma surg? Also can anyone tell me what the governing factor in resident selection is? I know it is a way off for me, but I know that I would like to be a surgeon. I have been in the medical field as a paramedic in and out of the hospital for the past five years.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,
I will disagree with you on the statement that no one sits you down and tells you what is expected of you if you are applying for surgery or any other specialty. At my medical school and many others, we started out with a clinical preceptor (our choice of specialties) during the first semester of the first year. You have plenty of opportunity to ask quesitons and find out what is required of any specialty. All you have to do is ask.

If you do well, you can enter any specialty so do well in your coursework and on your board exams. DUH...! If someone tells you that you you need to have such and such a score in order to do such and such specialty, then that becomes your shooting level. Don't limit yourself! We were told from the outset to shoot for the moon and hit the stars. If you do well, you can determine your own fate. If you do not do well, you may be at someone else's mercy so DO well in school no matter what specialty you want to enter. DUH...!