surgery to EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Calirad

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am a PGY2 surgical resident, but I think surgery is not for me. I would like to switch into EM next year or now ( I think it is impossible, right? probably no opening spot)
What should i do? I have great letters from my surgical attendings, great step 1 & 2 ( > 255), and great clinical grades. ( but not AOA).
My current residency program is in California, do I have any chance to stay in cali at all?
I will apply through ERAS again? Any other suggestion?

Members don't see this ad.

Does your current institution have an EM program? Talk to them about getting in.

No...it doesnt has a EM residency. That 's the problem :(

Members don't see this ad :)
You're in pretty great shape, I'd guess. You should be funded for another 3 years of training, and that will help. Also, if your current PD will be writing you a strong LOR then your switching won't be such a red flag.

How are you planning to get your EM SLOR? You'll need that to apply through ERAS.

My PD will support my decision, but she is in maternity leave right now. She probably will not be available until oct. (So far, I have got 2 LORs secured from other surgrical attendings). Will it be a problem?

I really want to stay in California? how competitive it is?

My PD will support my decision, but she is in maternity leave right now. She probably will not be available until oct. (So far, I have got 2 LORs secured from other surgrical attendings). Will it be a problem?

I really want to stay in California? how competitive it is?