Surprised by the application experience: Why didn't you get in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaudung

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Of the seven schools I applied to, I have heard two rejections. I am surprised and I wanted to get some feedback as to why I was rejected. I feel fortunate that I have received an interviews but I'm dismayed by the response to my application.

I took the MCAT in August and placed in the upper 90th percentile, though I received a low grade on the writing section. I was an engineer in a well-respected program and graduated in near the top of my class. I worked as an engineer and left to pursue medicine.

To gain clinical exposure and to show that my intent is earnest, I volunteered for the past year visiting patients in a rehab hospital as well as shadowing/free clinic work. I have TAed for several years, completed an MS, an undergraduate biomedical researcher, and worked as a laboratory technician in pathology (my current job). I'm not listing these qualifications simply for the sake of listing them; I want others to have this information so that I will receive informed feedback.

Since I spent the entire summer re-learning the basic science I would need to know for the MCAT and spent the time after juggling work/pre-reqs/volunteering, I applied very late. I completed my primary in October and my secondaries mid-December. Is this the reason my inbox isn't overflowing with interview requests? Or is it due to some flaw in my application (a poor writing score? motivation to become a doctor unconvincing?) Does anyone else find themselves in a similar situation?

Members don't see this ad.

I should also say that I'm expecting a few more rejections soon as well. It's sort of late to be expecting anything else.