switch to psych?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

revolution1980

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
im currently a categorical medicine intern at a nyc program. the intern experience for me has been a miserable one.
for sure i am going to try to switch out of my institution because with the work hour rules changing, it is going to go from bad to worse for PGY2s (only one reason among numerous others).
now im thinking do i even wanna do medicine?
i was originally torn between IM and psych. i chose medicine because i enjoy outpt primary care and having a broad general medical knowledge.
also, i had a pretty lousy sub I experience on psych.
i feel like this is the only time i'll be able to consider a field switch without significantly setting myself back.
anyone else go through something like this? thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

im currently a categorical medicine intern at a nyc program. the intern experience for me has been a miserable one.
for sure i am going to try to switch out of my institution because with the work hour rules changing, it is going to go from bad to worse for PGY2s (only one reason among numerous others).
i was originally torn between IM and psych. i chose medicine because i enjoy outpt primary care and having a broad general medical knowledge.
i feel like this is the only time i'll be able to consider a field switch without significantly setting myself back.

It's a little late in the season for you to make the switch (either to IM at another institution or to psych within either the same or another institution) this year. Generally interns sign their PGY2 contracts around January, so I assume you have already signed your contract for next year.