Switching from Pre-Optometry to Pre-PA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreOptometryKid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just graduated from undergrad at a pretty good school with a sorta low GPA 3.1-3.2. I was pre-optometry and I have actually finished most of my apps for optometry school. I have been working in an optometrist's office for a while and I think I might want to go the PA route instead after getting to know optometry better. I am very new to the PA thing. What are the pros and cons of both compared to each other?

I know I have to take the GRE (that's accepted by most PA schools right?), take Anatomy, and also try and get more exposure with a PA. Is there anything else I should do? What is a good way to see what a PA does?

I have all the prerequisites done except for Anatomy which I can take. What things should I do to boost my PA application? I've worked in a research lab, optometrist's office and have volunteered a lot in multiple hospitals. I am guessing my application will have to be for the next cycle anyways so what should I do to get started?

Thanks!​

Members don't see this ad.

Schools that accept lower GPAs require plenty of paid healthcare experience. Schools that don't require much HCE are the ones that typically require very high GPAs(think med school GPAs).

Once you've decided that becoming a PA is for you, your next step is to get certified in something(EMT, LVN, etc.) and get a year or two worth of paid experience before applying.

Shadow a PA so that you can make very certain you can be OK with the type job we do. The first week after landing your first job is not the time to find out you hate it......

Members don't see this ad :)
Schools that accept lower GPAs require plenty of paid healthcare experience. Schools that don't require much HCE are the ones that typically require very high GPAs(think med school GPAs).