Take a W or a 2.6?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

melotae

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore at UW. This quarter I started taking calculus based physics. Although the usual route for pre-health students at UW is to take algebra based physics, for my major it is recommended to take the calc based series. However, I didn't know that the calc based series is designed for engineering and physics students, so it is a very rigorous and fast paced class. Unfortunately with the other classes I am taking, I am not doing well in the class. Right now I am at about a 2.6-2.9 and am considering withdrawing from the class, since I'm doing well in the 3 other classes I'm taking.

Would it be better to withdraw from the class, which would result in a W on my transcript but not affect my science GPA (3.8), or to take a low grade and transfer to the alg based series starting next quarter & retake 1st quarter physics over the summer? I don't want a C to kill my GPA but I'm concerned schools will think that I withdrew to avoid a D or F. If I withdraw, I plan to take the first quarter of alg based physics starting next quarter, it won't put me behind schedule for my prereqs at all.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey,
As long as you don't have more than 1 or 2 W's or too many C's over the span of 4 years, you will be fine. If you don't get lowet than a C I dont think it matters which you choose to do. Optometry schools forgive a few C's here and there, just have a good reason when the time comes.
Hope that helps!

What is your major? At this point you should be talking to your advisor/department, not just a group of random people on a message board. If calculus based physics is recommended for your major, then there is probably a reason for that. This might be the kind of thing where you may have to just retake the class and seek some tutoring/assistance earlier in the semester next go-around.