Jan 4, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi I finished my bio degree and am applying to dental school right now.

I haven't taken biochem yet. Is it okay if I take it at a CC. I know some schools don't accept that but I literally took 50 other sciences credits at a 4 year university.

Jan 19, 2015
Hi I finished my bio degree and am applying to dental school right now.

I haven't taken biochem yet. Is it okay if I take it at a CC. I know some schools don't accept that but I literally took 50 other sciences credits at a 4 year university.
I'd check the website of the schools you are applying to. If they don't have anything there, I'd try send them an email.

About the Ads

Daneosaurus

D4
7+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2012
Status
Dental Student
my local one does
I would recommend that you check to see what it transfers to your University as. There's a good chance it won't be rated as the same class. The biochem that dental schools are talking is generally considered a senior level course taught by the chemistry department. I can't imagine that it's the same course. Make sure that you don't get screwed in the end by taking a course that doesn't fulfill the requirement.

doc toothache

10+ Year Member
Jan 17, 2006
Status
Dentist
Aug 4, 2013
Status
I would just take a biochem class at a university. If there was one class that I'm glad I took before dental school it would be biochem. You'll see all this stuff later and you won't be nearly as overwhelmed. I couldn't imagine that a CC would go as indepth as a biochem course taken at a university would. Plus just save yourself the trouble of not having this requirement when applying.

BetaHelix

5+ Year Member
Oct 4, 2010
Status
Pre-Dental