taking biochem, etc. just for MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woodson

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi, i'm a sophomore in college and am deciding on a major. it is between music and biochem. if i pick music, i'll have physics next year, but should i take biochem also to prepare for the MCAT? or physiology? how much do these classes actually help? i'm concerned because the only bio classes i will have are cell bio and genetics. this can't be enough to cover the bio section of the MCAT. so, should i take the classes or spend my time studying via kaplan, tpr, etc.? thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'd take biochem I, but physiology might not be that useful...it might be overkill to take a whole course on it. There's often quite a bit of biochem on the MCAT so it can only help.

I guess it all depends on your MCAT form. I would recommend taking physiology since there seemed to be a lot of that on my MCAT form in August. I had no biochem that I can remember. I didn't take biochem before the MCAT and I managed to do quite well. I would say to take physiology and just study the biochem stuff from a Kaplan or PR review book. In my opinion, physiology would be a lot better prep for the MCAT then biochem.

Members don't see this ad :)
I took a year of Anatomy & Physiology, and I definitely think it helped on the MCAT, though I'm sure you can get by without it. As for biochem, I'm taking it now, and the MCAT covers organic chemistry pretty heavily, but only skims the surface as far as biochem is concerned (no protein folding, enzyme kinetics, etc).

It's funny because when I took PR's class, it focused a lot on Biochem on the practice tests, but when I got to the real test (in April), there was SOOO much physiology. I would recommend taking both if you have the time, and physiology if you don't.