TB/PPD testing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emtcsmith

Paramedic
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey so I'm looking for some information beyond what google/wikipedia tells you about TB and PPD testing. I have a basic understanding of TB, its diagnosis and some about treatment but how common is it for a health care worker to get an exposure and things like that.

Members don't see this ad.

undertow

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
damn, i was just researching this myself today. I'm a pharmacy tech and i talked to this guy who's taking isoniazid about his medication. After the convo, the pharmacists tells me not to get too close to people taking that drug cause they have TB and its really contagious. He didnt cough or spit on me so i hope to damn i dont have TB.

vesper9

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i doubt that guy would be walking around with active TB

A few years ago when I started working at a hospital I had a positive PPD indicating exposure to TB. The xray showed no TB but I did have a small granuloma in my lung. I took Isoniazid for 6 months to clear it up just in case it contained TB that might activate one day.

Before going on isoniazid I talked to a the doctors I work for/alongside and found that a number of them or their colleagues had to do a 6-month isoniazid therapy often while in medical school or residency. None had devloped active TB, but I think exposure is pretty common (or maybe WAS more common b/c these doctors are older?)

Members don't see this ad :)

emtcsmith

Paramedic
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
my own thinking would be that it would be sort of common but if anyone has stats that would be great. Oh and no I highly doubt a health care worker with active TB would be working.

D

deleted87716

emtcsmith said: