TBR Physio - not thorough enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blackcadillacs

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I know the general assumption for TBR is that it's way too detailed for bio, but as I'm studying, I'm getting the feeling that that's not really the case for the physiology sections? Seems like it's missing info that really should be present..

For example, I'm noticing that at the start of each section, it will give a list of "section goals" that we should know, but then it won't even mention some of those topics within the section - like in the "GI and Kidney" section, it says we should know the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system, but does not even mention the words 'renin' or 'angiotensin' anywhere in the chapter. In the "Heart and Lung" section, it says we should know "the Bohr effect, respiratory/metabolic alkalosis/acidosis," but doesn't mention these words anywhere else in the chapter.

I haven't been doing all of the practice passages cause I wanna save some of them for closer to the MCAT, but is the expectation that we learn some of the info just by doing the practice Q's? I'm kinda annoyed because I don't see what the point is in spending $60 on a book if it doesn't even give you some of the basic info about topics it says you need to know, but then finds time to go into one-paragraph long detail about the symbiotic relationship b/w bacteria and cows. Really TBR?

Members don't see this ad.

So I know the general assumption for TBR is that it's way too detailed for bio, but as I'm studying, I'm getting the feeling that that's not really the case for the physiology sections? Seems like it's missing info that really should be present..