Texas Path programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dingozlife

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, Im a 3rd year student interested in path programs in texas, does anyone have some experiences with programs such as UTSW or Baylor University Medical or any of the houston programs? thanks all for your input

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I am resident at UTSW. What specific questions might you have about our program?

I have heard UTMB has a strong program for Texas.

All of the residents and fellows at my program are telling me that Methodist got the better half when it split from Baylor (ie more known faculty, pays residents better, etc.) and that Baylor really took a hit after the split. I haven't been to either of these programs yet, so take it for what its worth.

I don't know anything specific about UT Houston, but I do know someone who is now in dermpath who went there for residency, and I know that some of their graduates move on to big-name fellowships (such as Stanford) after training.

my $0.02

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey all, thank-you for your inputs,

Im currently in the DFW area and seriously considering staying in dallas, houston, or SA for path residency. As a 3rd year student now, I became interested after observing pathologists at work and also not enjoying rounding on patients or the OR setting as much. I been to the various program websites and didnt get much info about Baylor UM. My questions are: how do you like the life as a pathology resident at UTSW? what are the calls like and daily routine hrs like? how is the faculty, do they spend a good time teaching, how much scut work is involved if any in your opinion?

Thanks all for your posts

hi dingozlife,