Thank you note and business cards?

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by pharm_chick27, Aug 17, 2015.

1. pharm_chick27

Pharmacist
    I graduated this year. I have a position at an independent pharmacy in my hometown but have been applying and interviewing at the smaller hospitals in the area because I also enjoyed those rotations. I always send a thank you note after the interview and my pharma school professors suggested sending a business card in the note. Would this really make any difference? I have my senior year business cards but they say "pharmd candidate"...I guess it would be really cheesy to cross off candidate and send it along with it? Maybe just skip the card part. Or do you think it would be ok to send the pharmd candidate one since I just graduated?...even though would have the pharmd now? maybe I am just overthinking it.

2. Son_Goku

2+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    Both are cheesy.

Don't do it.

Corpseman and Pharma.Prince like this.
  3. Pharma.Prince

Pharmacy Student
    Way so cheesy, they throw them in the garbage without even checking who sent them.

4. BenJammin

BenJammin No Apologies
    7+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    All PharmD Candidate business cards go in the trash.

5. Dred Pirate

2+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    I read the notes, and then chuck them, don't send the business cards. A thank note is ok - but if you say something stupid (believe me I have seen it) they are more likely to hurt your chances

6. 297point1

297point1 Slowly drowning
    Pharmacist 7+ Year Member

Academic Administration
    I have never understood what was wrong with calling yourself a "Pharmacy Student" or "Student Pharmacist".
    This whole 'PharmD Candidate' moniker is silly- I tell my students this all the time. And like most of the advice I give, it is ignored.