The Ax Axed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OB1🤙

Breaking Good
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
To the point: I hate the axillary block.

Pick your technique: I think it sucks. You find all 3 nerves? What do you do when you only injected a third of your local and now you can't get your other twitches? You do a single shot? Well then your block fails sometimes, doesn't it? You go transarterial? Likely effective, but barbaric, I say. (I say it jokingly, but I still say it).

I think the ultrasound-guided supraclavicular block makes the axillary block close to obsolete.

But I'm still learning.

So I wanna hear your thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

I agree that a blind axillary block is inferior for most things. I always thought transarterial was a little off as well. But with the ultrasound you can get all 3 nerves. You can even clearly see the musculocutaneous, a key nerve in this block. The thing I like about this block is the reliability of the anatomy as well as the safety. Supraclavicular is a great block, no question. But every so often you get someone that just doesn't image that well. That block relies on a clear picture to stay out of the lung and to see the nerves, not to mention a clear view of your needle tip. I'm not abandoning the block, but more adding back the ax block to my bag of tricks.

A transarterial axillary block is a block every resident should master because you need to be able to perform a few blocks without any other tools.
I say you should learn how to do transarterial axillary block, fascia iliaca block, intercostal blocks, and ankle block without stimulator or ultrasound.

Members don't see this ad :)