Quantcast

thinking about German medical school - don't know any German

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rico_suave

2+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Ok so I am a native English speaker, non-US and non-EU citizen and thinking about studying medicine in Germany for next fall 2018. I have a Bachelors degree from a US university and finished 2 years of medical school in the US but had to withdraw due to personal and financial reasons.

Anyhoos I am totally new to the german language. literally only started duolingo a week ago but i am determined to SOMEHOW get up to C1 with medical terminology by the time i apply next year (am I crazy?). I heard that in order to take the language test one must show 1000 hours of study so i plan to possibly go to a language school in germany in a few weeks.

Ok, so i need some feedback. With my Bachelors (GPA 3.82) and some medical school would I be able to get in? would the incomplete med school be seen as a negative? and is it possible with intense intense study to get up to the fluency level i need for German medical school? and any tips for that.

thanks so much for any advice!!!!!

PageDrT

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
C1 is surreal to me, B2 yeah sure but C1? That’s insane

Animalcules

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I am a native English speaker, non-US and non-EU citizen and thinking about studying medicine in Germany for next fall 2018. I have a Bachelors degree from a US university and finished 2 years of medical school in the US but had to withdraw due to personal and financial reasons.