Third Time Applicant Nursing Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gingerbreadcookie1219

LSU SVM C/O 2025
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am applying to LSU vet school a third time this cycle. First time I applied in 2017 I was denied admission (GPA wasn’t there yet). I am an untraditional student and have a degree in something unrelated and took my prerequisites as a post bach student and had to retake a few science classes. I have large animal experience as a vet tech and personal experience as I have horses. I have small animal experience as a vet tech at two different practices. Not sure what the hours are, but worked as a tech while taking prerequisites for 3 years. I applied again last year with a 3.72 prerequisite gpa, 3.82 last 45 hour gpa, and 296 GRE. I got an interview, but ended up dropping my application. I am currently in a 2 year registered nursing program that I applied to after being denied admission the first time and will finish spring of 2021. Even though I am in nursing school the passion is not there, I am not happy and have not been able to let go of my dream of becoming a veterinarian. I would really appreciate opinions on what I need to do to strengthen my application. I made 10 hours of B’s last semester in nursing school so it brought my last 45 hour GPA down some (not sure how admission committee will feel about that). I’m assuming I’ll need to explain why I’m in nursing school and why I dropped my application last application cycle. I honestly want to finish nursing school since I started it and only have 2 semesters left. Please help me! Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Applying to LSU vet school (no others due to OOS tuition and other obligations)
Prerequisite GPA: 3.72
Last 45 Hour GPA: 3.6
GRE: 296 (not great I hated the GRE)

Members don't see this ad.