1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
  4. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

This Average Joe Wants to Know if Theres Hope

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Havel, May 1, 2007.

1. Havel

Havel Newb
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I've been in school for most of the 20 years of my short life. Over those years I have accumulated many grades. It has taken me until now to relize that I am just an average student. I make A's and B's with a few C's mixed in for spice, but mostly I'm just a B student. Science classes are very difficult for me but I work hard, and I want to be a dentist. So is there really any hope for a hopelessly average student to make it into dental school?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. LNinlove

LNinlove Member
    7+ Year Member

Dental Student
    Do a search for the under 3.0 club...there is always hope! You are above average...last time I checked average was a 2.0.

4. Envision

Envision Envisioning...
    7+ Year Member

Dentist
    Average for grad school?

5. tooth decay

tooth decay science officer
    2+ Year Member

I think the biggest aspect of your academic life that needs to change, besides your grades, is your defeatist attitude. You sound like you are ready to surrender even before you have begun applying.

6. DJ Quik

DJ Quik Future Podiatrist
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    with my brains and your work ethic, I have no doubt you could get in.
    In all reality though, if you are under 3.0, Unless you are a minority, most schools will fill there class before they even look at your other qualifications. Ask me how I know.
    If you can manage a 3.2 or better though, with a decent DAT, you should get in somewhere.

Best of Luck