This has to work out ... and I need advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FtrDoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I need some advice on how medical schools look at non-trads who have been out of school for awhile. I graduated in 2004 and have been working as a paralegal until recently. I've wanted nothing more than to be an MD and after a failed attempt at pre-med undergrad I decided to give it one more go.

My undergrad BCPM was a 2.167. I only took 12 credits and dropped. My undergrad cum was a 3.35.

After a year of post-bacc with Bio, Gen Chem and a semester of physics, I have a 4.0. If I continue on that path, will I need to take more science courses next year? Or should I just plan on taking the MCAT and applying this spring 2008?

I currently have 0 volunteer hours, but switched jobs and work as a clinical research assistant in NYC. What else can/should I do??? Is this enough? Thank you!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Look, man, you're all over the place, and you're getting panicky. Please settle down and focus. And have more confidence in yourself. As far as people going to medical school who have been out of school for a while, it happens every day. Relax.

My undergrad BCPM was a 2.167. I only took 12 credits and dropped. My undergrad cum was a 3.35.

After a year of post-bacc with Bio, Gen Chem and a semester of physics, I have a 4.0. If I continue on that path, will I need to take more science courses next year?

This isn't subjective: you need to do the math. Specifically, spreadsheet out what you've taken, and figure out how much more you need to take to get up over 3.5 for both numbers.

Or should I just plan on taking the MCAT and applying this spring 2008?

Don't take it until you score above your goal on practice tests.

Best of luck to you.

Members don't see this ad :)