This is of interest to any resident, so please let it stay here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Thebeyonder

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a resident in Anesthesiology. I am sure you know the how difficult it is to get into medical school, how competitive it is. Once I got into medical there are a number, actually four, licensing exams that I have had to take, the money for which has come out of my pocket. Once in residency to be board certified I will need to take two additional exams, then I will need to take recertification exams for the rest of my life. Patient responsibility will ultimately fall into my hands, meaning that my license and the money I make may be at risk if there is any error on my behalf or if I fall to be aware of any errors committed by those working under me.
With the great deal of sacrifice that comes with being a phyisician, the lengthy hours, the stress involved, the money for tuition and exams, the time needed to constantly study, it is a wonder that people enter into medicine. However once I become a practicing physician I will have job security and also will make a good sum of money. However what I have come to notice is that the amount of money that I will be making is in no way comparable to the hours I have devoted to the field I have chosen.