Thoughts on U. Rochester???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

banannie

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm trying to cut down the list of med schools I'm applying to. I'm a NJ resident and have 22 so far, plus 2 others I'm still considering. Curriculum-wise, I think that U. Rochester would be a perfect match for me. But the location . . . ugh
I live with my boyfriend, who is planning to follow me to wherever I go to med school. So far, he's refused to give me much input as to where he would like or not like to live. Last night, I got him to admit that he really wouldn't be happy living in Rochester, NY, especially considering the weather and how far away it is from everyone we know. And that got me thinking, hey, I really don't think I'd like to live in Rochester either. But I'm still hesitant to take it off my list, because I have a feeling it could be an ideal school for me. (and yes, I do realize that my chances of getting into any particular med school are small)

Can anyone who knows more about Rochester, give me any input? I'm too stingy to just throw out $100 to apply to a place that I wouldn't want to go.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.