Thoughts Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

krystanm077

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This might get lengthy, but I want to be thorough.

To begin, what I'm looking for are some thoughts on my chances of getting into medical school.

So here goes!

I currently work in a large Children's hospital as an xray tech. I graduated my radiology program with a 3.9gpa and will have about 5 years experience by the time I am ready to apply to medical school.
Currently, I am finishing my undergrad degree, and have a 3.36gpa. I am hoping to improve this, but due to working and family, I have been averaging only B's lately.
Here's the catch (besides my low gpa) - I have about 10 W's. Some of them are from a semester in which I decided to change my major. I withdrew from the classes that I no longer needed and focused on the relevant classes. I received A's in these classes.
2 W's came from a semester in which I was pregnant and lost the baby. I had many complications leading up to that, and just couldn't keep focused.
One W was for an introductory chem class - I took Chem l the next semester and earned a B
Now, I just today withdrew from Chem ll (I missed the drop deadline by 3 days :( ) but plan to take it next semester. I just found out last night that my 6yr old daughter will have 30 min of homework EVERY night, and my chem class was 3 nights/wk. I want to be home with her to help her with her homework and develop a stable, consistent schedule for her, and next semester I can take Chem ll during the day, when she is also in school.

I am wondering if these W's are going to affect my chances of getting into medical school?

I have not taken the MCAT yet.

I am also wondering: with my experience, an improvement in gpa, hopefully a decent MCAT score, and my xray program gpa -- will this outweigh the W's -- and will my chances of acceptance be good?

Thanks for the info/help/advice :)