PhD/PsyD Time for a social life?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newyork-3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current undergraduate student interested in pursuing a PhD in Clinical Psychology. I'm excited, but I'm also concerned that committing to a PhD program will mean sacrificing fun/a social life altogether. I am a serious and committed student, but I also like to have fun and relax sometimes!

I want a balanced life. I'm passionate about clinical psych but I don't want it to completely take over all aspects of my life. I want to live a "normal" life while in grad school: make friends, date, go out, relax, etc.

Clinical psych PhD students--do you have time for these things? Do you have time to go out to bars/meet new people on the weekends? Time to relax?

Members don't see this ad.

There will certainly be less time than during undergrad, but how much less depends on the program and how you prioritize your own time. I made time to socialize w other students; that was relatively easy (head to the bar for a drink or two after the clinic closes for the evening) but wouldn't have had time to start and maintain new relationships with people outside of the program I don't think. However, I also was on the "get out of here in 4 years" (meaning internship 5th year) plan which was harder time-wise than spreading it out over 5 years like many other students in my program.

Members don't see this ad :)