Time spent studying for MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrewFromVA

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'll be taking the MCAT next year and I was hoping some of you could give me a rough estimate of how much time you spent studying for it and how you did on it? I guess I just want to get an idea of what I'm up againts in regards to study time in the coming months. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would strongly suggest taking the August MCAT, when you have no other coursework to worry about. I managed to work part time this summer and study the rest, and I was happy with my scores (I improved them from when I took them while still in school). However, I know friends that took them during the school year and did fine. I guess it all depends on the individual in question. Best of luck.

I had been out of school for 10 years, so had forgotten everything. I studied for 2 hours a day for 15 months. I was very happy with the score I received.

Cheers, strider

Members don't see this ad :)
I would also suggest taking the August MCAT unless you're applying (in the US) the same year you're taking it.

Anyway, I'll tell you how I studied. Here's some background info: I'm a chemistry major at a small, "not well known for it's science program" university in Canada (reputation doesn't matter much here). I just took the Aug MCAT after my second year. I had finished intro bio, gen chem, physics (all first year), a year of physiology, one semester of cell bio, and organic I and II. So I don't think you need a whole bunch of upper level sciences courses to do well no the MCAT. I did very well in all my courses, so I had a pretty strong science background heading into the test.