timing of COMLEX/USMLE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ruck

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I always thought that everyone takes COMLEX/USMLE at one time (like how MCAT used to be offered twice a year). But it seems like people are taking it at different times. Could you please clarify me on this matter?

Members don't see this ad.

If you take both USMLE and Comlex, how far apart do you take them and which first?

Members don't see this ad :)
Someone had suggested gearing your studies for the USMLE, taking the USMLE first, and the COMLEX two weeks later, allowing time to review OMM. Sounds good to me.

I don't think you can go wrong taking one earlier than the other, just personal preference i suppose.

I studied as if I were taking USMLE (less focused on molecular genetics and biochem) and spent a day studying OMM prior to COMLEX. Used First Aid and QBank for USMLE.

Took a week off to brush up on molecular, biochem, and review one more time and took USMLE.

I thought COMLEX was easier and since DO students do better on that anyway, I would suggest taking that first and getting a feel for taking the board exams and the computer program.

If you take USMLE, you should aim to do equal or better than your COMLEX (or else it can hurt you...as in, you did well on a DO exam but worse on a MD exam). So using COMLEX to prep for USMLE was my approach.

Warning though, your friends only taking COMLEX will be done, you'll go out and party, and thinking of studying for another week is torture. It's questionable how much you really retain in addition to what you already knew in that time between exams. I think 2 - 6 days between the exams would work.

Just what I did and what I'd do again. Good luck! It'll be over soon.

CP