Tips for Gen Chem 2 and Orgo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VJ_2019

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post, I'm an undergrad sophomore and will be taking Gen chem 2 this fall, I would really like some study tips because I feel chem is my weak spot because I barely made a B in gen chem 1 and I'm really worried about my grades for the future and more tough classes like Orgo 1 and 2, Biochem, and Gen chem 2. I have done Khan Academy and do the homework questions but the thing is I didn't take AP chem in high school and to me it seems all professors think everyone did and should know most of the stuff. A lot of the concepts are hard to comprehend and although I feel I have got it, my exam performance reflects otherwise. I get really nervous during my exams and feel like a complete idiot. So any tips on how to stay on top of topics would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Reviewing everyday (with flash cards preferably, especially equations/etc.), endless practice questions, gets tutor from your institution early on so you don’t get lost and panic at the end of the semester, prep really well for your lab component to get the most out of it ( and clarify the practical aspects of chem).

Also, a B is a good start. You’ll do great!

Reactions: 1 users
I'm horrible at chem but I think with proper study hours and seeking out study materials that work for you may help to actually comprehend the material. It may take you to try more than a few different study guides to find the right one for you.
What is the rule of thumb? 3 study hrs for every hour of class. Try that in a very quiet place without any social media or texting and see how it works. It's what I plan to try this fall, I'll be retaking gen chem I.

Members don't see this ad :)