To apply this year or next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shredgnar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey,

So I've changed my mind a million times about what I want to do. I've ultimately decided on PT, but I'm wondering if anyone has any advice about applying this year or holding off until next.

My pre-req grades are mostly B's with a couple A's and C's. So pre-req GPA is on the low side. Overall GPA is about 3.4. I thought about pharmacy for a while, so I took Ochem 1, Ochem2, and Bio-Chem this past year and got A's in all of those, but obviously you don't need them for PT. The C's are from undergrad...I am 3+ years removed from undergrad now. I have a ton of PT experience. I worked as an aide for a year and volunteered at another clinic and in a hospital clinic. I also have 2 years of sales experience. Lots of extracurriculars. My GRE score is average (I took it a couple years ago).

I would like to apply as soon as possible, but waiting one more year would allow me to re-take those classes I got C's in to get A's, and also re-take the GRE. If I do apply this year, I'll probably have my application in within the next week (recommendations will probably take a little longer).

I would like to apply to schools in CA, CO, and UT, which are all out of state schools for me.

What do you think? :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Now that I'm looking harder at the PTCAS website, it looks like some schools accept OChem in place of General Chem and Microbiology in place of General Bio as pre-req's. If this is the case, my pre-req GPA will be much better..... anyone know if this is the case for sure?