to be or not to be...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bottomlesspit

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
...a surgeon. that is the question. i'm a third year med student, and while my first two years i was committed (intellectually, at least) to med-peds, i absolutely fell in love with my general surgery rotation. the adrenaline, expertise, craft, and breadth and depth of knowledge all took my breath away. but now that i'm more than halfway through my third year, i'm disappointed to say that surgery seems to attract the most naysayers of any residency out there.

everyone i've run into tells me, "if ANYTHING ELSE makes you even the least bit happy, do that. don't do surgery." even surgery residents and PD's tell me this! :( i've spoken with a surgery resident who survived intern year, only to switch to another field, claiming that surgery was too stifling. my surgery chief resident told me that 20% of GS residents change their minds. comments? thoughts? as a forewarning, i'm new to this board, and will be posting a lot re: surgery. i have tons of questions, and want to get a feel for different people's answers ... thanks in advance! :D

Members don't see this ad.

You just have to look at yourself and decide what you want and do it. Yes, surgery residency will be tough and if you have a family it might reduce the amount of time you get to spend with them. However, if you love surgery, you have to do it. Why would you want to settle for something else that you wouldn't enjoy as much just because you THINK the lifestyle of surgery will be bad.

...surgery seems to attract the most naysayers of any residency out there.

everyone i've run into tells me, "if ANYTHING ELSE makes you even the least bit happy, do that. don't do surgery." even surgery residents and PD's tell me this!