To many EM electives?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Erek94

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So Im in a position where I have 4 confirmed electives for this upcoming auidition season. Im a DO student and my core EM rotation is at a less than stellar facility and no residency affiliation. So to summarize I would be doing a total of 5 EM rotations my 4th year. We dont get to do one in our 3rd year. I imagine the pros of doing 4 EM electives at Allo programs would be the exposure for interviews and the experience but would this potentially be detrimental to my application later down the road? Would a program director see this as a negative thing or really not take note of it? I also understand that its advisable to get a SLOE from each place, so in the event that my ERAS letters to each program is full can I just individually send these letters to programs? I can back out of my last elective now without pissing anyone off since it was just confirmed.

Thanks in adavnce for your response.

Members don't see this ad.

5 seems like a bunch.
Here is how it worked out for me (also a DO, also without a home EM rotation with residency)
I did one EM rotation as a 3rd yr at a DO residency just to make sure I was as interested as I thought I might be
Then I set up 3 away rotations all at allopathic residency institutions, in addition to my home EM rotation. Your math is correct, that is 5, with 4 of them in my fourth year.

The away rotations at allopathic programs, and the resulting SLOEs were the biggest strength of my application. For a DO attempting to match at an allo program, I think face time is key. I would do 3 away rotations as long as time and money allows and try to get a great SLOE at all of them. If you are hesitant about having too many on your application, do one in Tox or U/S, granting you exposure to the residency program, but in an EM sub specialty.