Tons of questions, very confused and really need your help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Garick

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

For the intro - I am an undergraduate student majoring in psychology. I am finishing my first semester as a psych major and currently am a sophmore.

After reading a couple pages of this forum I got a general idea about what psych major can lead into. But I don't know what should I choose for my future.

I still don't know if I should be a BA or BS??? I know you will ask it depends on your interests but I am interested in everything and it doesnt really matter for me. But I know for sure that I don't want to go into education. I am more interested in Applied Psych, Counseling, Psychiatry, Clinical Psych. So I really want to know the differences between each and what are the perspectives for each one of them.

Correct me if I am wrong but here are my conclusion about what I know so far:
With a BA you can: go to grad school and get a PhD
With BS you can: go to grad school and get a PdD or you can go to med. school and become a doctor.

I did not find any significant differences in salaries between BA or BS. But I might be wrong. What about MA and MS??? And finally what are prospectives after getting MA or MS? And the same for PhD?
The money matter is also important for me; therefore I am trying to find something that will suit me the best and get me good salary. I just need to figure out whether I should be a BS or BA.
It is all confusing me and I am so confused right now that makes me wanna give it up.

Also I think it is a stupid question but if I go to med school and after graduating from there, I will have MD right?

That's why I am here asking experienced ppl for your advice.

Thank You!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
All of these questions are answered on various threads on here and in the Ph.D/PsyD forum.