Too late to apply to fellowship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mimi1

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 2nd year peds resident and think that I've finally decided upon GI for a fellowship. The problem is, I haven't done anything to prepare to start applying, like getting letters of recommendations and writing a personal statement. From what I can tell online, programs start accepting applications in September. If I tried to put together my application now, would I be at a great disadvantage? Am I better off sitting this cycle out and applying next year (which would mean that I would need to find a 1 year position for after residency)?

Any advice is appeciated!

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 2nd year peds resident and think that I've finally decided upon GI for a fellowship. The problem is, I haven't done anything to prepare to start applying, like getting letters of recommendations and writing a personal statement. From what I can tell online, programs start accepting applications in September. If I tried to put together my application now, would I be at a great disadvantage? Am I better off sitting this cycle out and applying next year (which would mean that I would need to find a 1 year position for after residency)?

Any advice is appeciated!

Thanks!!!
Peds GI is a match and the application doesn't open until Jan. :) At least, for those programs participating in the Match.

There are some who don't participate and may be accepting apps already (I know UT Houston is doing this). Make sure the dates you have are from updated websites. I noticed a few programs haven't updated their websites in a couple of years.

Plenty of time! :)