Too late to go for pharm tech exam?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Snowcat

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone - I'm a sophomore Computer Science/Pre-Pharmacy student, and have recently been looking into being certified as a pharmacy technician. I figure that it's a good way to gain experience, and also to see if I really want to be a pharmacist. I do want to be a pharmacist - but I think it's a good idea to test the waters out and see what it's like in the working field, instead of suddenly realizing pharmacy isn't for me during my 2nd year of pharmacy school, or something like that.

I only just started looking into the pharmacy technician field, and the deadline to register for the PTCB exam is tomorrow night. The exam is in March - if I start studying and preparing for it now, would I be ready for the exam by then? I'd really like to give it a shot and be certified as soon as possible, so that I can start working.

I'd really appreciate any feedback you guys have on this. Thanks!! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Two months should be enough time to study for the exam, but be sure that you get a good book or two. I took the exam in November, and most of it was math. I came out of it knowing that I had aced the math but unsure about the rest (I don't have any retail pharmacy experience, just used books to study). It turns out that I got a fairly decent score. One book that a lot of people on this board suggest is Noah Reifman's pharmacy tech book. I didn't use it, but I've heard rave reviews.

However- it may actually be too late to register for the test. I got this e-mail a couple of days ago from the PTCB website:

"Dear CPhTs: