Top student with only ONE INTERVIEW

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nio87

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im actually a dental student but im writing in behalf of my husband.

He is applying for medical school for the second time now. His GPA is 3.98 and his MCAT score is 33.
His has worked as Physics MCAT princeton instructor, started his own program with Down syndrome Association, and he is currently a high school science teacher, and he has a bachelors degree from UCLA. Last year he received no interviews (he only applied to 5 CA schools), and this year he got only 1 interview so far (he applied to 22 schools all over US)....

I dont understand why this is happening, shouldnt he be top choice? why is out friend with 22 MCAT score and 3.7 GPA getting 5+ interviews?

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

What schools did you husband apply to? If the 22 schools he applied to are the top 22 schools in the U.S.....well, there's your problem.

Your 22 MCAT friend probably applied thoughtfully, not broadly.

No clinical experience? Applied late? Poor or inadequate letters of rec? These things kill apps.

Maybe he didn't apply broadly enough. Top 25 schools are a crapshoot no matter how strong an applicant is. Besides grades, there are a lot of other factors to consider.

Members don't see this ad :)
How is your friend with a 22 MCAT getting 5 interviews?

Your posting leads me to ask if English is not your (and his) first language? If so, did he have his essays reviewed by someone who writes well and whose mother tongue was English?

Wild guess, forgive me if I'm wrong. It's just that some of your wording was incorrect or awkward, maybe you were just in a hurry.

No clinical experience? Applied late? Poor or inadequate letters of rec? These things kill apps.