MHA Totally new at this field, interested in MHA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AndyAirbender

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I’m currently an undergraduate pursuing degrees in Public Administration and Nonprofit Management. Going into my undergrad, I thought that I wanted to work in city management. However, I’ve discovered a strong interest in health policy and now I could see myself working in the health administrative field. This is such a foreign field to me, so I have a few questions.

I have zero professionally trained medical background. Am I even the right person for this type of job? I’ve looked at some MHA programs and I see there is no prior medical experience needed, but my lack of background still worries me. I’ve heard that getting that *first* healthcare admin job can be very difficult, and as a person with no background in health, that scares me. With my educational background I can hope to work in a nonprofit hospice or hospital, but I’m still very confused about my prospects.

Do most people who get MHAs have a background/education in the medical field? Can anyone describe to me an example of someone who didn’t start in the medical field, got an MHA, and was able to break into that field? Any information would help. As you can see, I’m totally in the dark here. Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I’m currently an undergraduate pursuing degrees in Public Administration and Nonprofit Management. Going into my undergrad, I thought that I wanted to work in city management. However, I’ve discovered a strong interest in health policy and now I could see myself working in the health administrative field. This is such a foreign field to me, so I have a few questions.